Nerf Wars

My internship is a bit nerdy. But that’s perfect, because I love anything nerdy.

On Thursday after work I went with some co-workers to the “Nerf N-Strike Elite expo.” Nerf (as in the toy guns) is coming out with a new line of guns and Mashable had been invited to the launch party.

It was at the Metropolitan Pavilion, 123 West 18th Street.

This was my first “product expo” so I had no idea what to expect. When I got there I waited in line with another intern, and we slowly queued our way up to the fourth floor. It was all very official. When I got to the front of the line I was asked to show my ID and explain who I was associated with. After finding my name on the list the hostess ushered me through a dark door, and I was in.

It was blue. Very blue.

It felt super swanky. As I walked into the room I was handed a drink and offered the cutest little filet mignon appetizer — followed by a delicious bite of balsamic drizzled watermelon. Techno music was bumping and Nerf’s PR team was walking around introducing themselves.

But that was the end of the swankiness. After eating a few bites and finishing my drink I followed my co-workers deeper into the blueness and suited up.

It was time to test out the weaponry.

And that’s exactly what we did. It turns out that Buzzfeed’s editorial team was also at the event (Mashable’s “arch rival”), so someone quickly put together a Buzzfeed vs. Mashable Nerf Battle. It was an awesome mess.

It was fun to get to know my co-workers outside of the office. I honestly don’t think I have had this much fun since I was ten years old.

My knees are bruised, and I have a blood blister on one hand, but oh was it worth it.

-Katrina

Leave a Reply

