Life in the City

Becoming situated with life in New York City has definitely been a challenge, but an absolutely amazing challenge. Arriving in New York on Wednesday afternoon, I had less than 24 hours before I started my internship in the beauty department at Seventeen. My day was spent frantically running around the city picking up all of the basic necessities. By the end of the day, I was anxious to lay down and hit the hay. However, I found myself staring at the ceiling and watching the time slowly drag on. I was so very excited for the next day ahead.
My major hiccup of the first day of my internship was getting on the A train heading downtown to Brooklyn. Hearst Tower is on the complete opposite side of the city. Needless to say, the subway has confused me on many occassions this summer thus far, but I think (thankfully!) I am finally getting the hang of it. As soon as I had service, I emailed my editor and informed her of my mishap. She laughed and told me it was completely fine, which was a huge relief. When I finally made it to Seventeen, I was greeted with paperwork, a confidentiality agreement and a 20-plus page packet of EVERY detail I needed to know about working in the beauty department. My office is directly in the beauty closet, which is basically my favorite place on the planet. Thankfully, the previous intern came back in for the day to completely give me the rundown on everything that I needed to know and what to expect during my time at Seventeen.
I was nervous, excited, overwhelmed and ready to learn more after my first day. I am so happy and thankful for the opportunity I have to be in this glorious city doing what I love. As I have officially completed my first full week at Seventeen, I constantly find myself referencing a quote I once heard: “Do what you love and you’ll never work a day in your life”. Here’s to an incredible summer in the most amazing city!
Leave a Reply

