Mac on Mac on Mac

Kindergarten lunch days are THE best. Chicken nuggets, macaroni and cheese, chocolate milk….what more could a girl ask for? Well, there is something; It’s a small request. Make mac the main dish.

Ever since I was a little girl, I loved macaroni and cheese. It wasn’t until college that I discovered you could make Kraft macaroni and cheese even better by adding a pinch of real cheddar cheese. Kraft may claim to be “the cheesiest,” but that was before I came along.

Perusing Urbanspoon for a place to eat on my lunch break, my heart skipped a beat when I saw there was a restaurant that served only mac and cheese. S’Mac is on East 12th Street and is the perfect lunch spot. It only holds about six tables and resides in what is, aside from a few thrift stores, a residential area. With mix-ins like goat cheese and slab bacon, it took me a while to decide what to get. I ended up getting the “American” which S’mac’s menu claimed was “just the way you remember it as a kid! Nostalgia at its finest – a tasty blend of American & Cheddar cheeses.” This mac and cheese, though, sure didn’t come from a box.  My hats off to S’Mac for upstaging my mac and cheese skills

Ashley Carr

Leave a Reply

