My Guilty Pleasures: (Cheap) Clothes and Cocktails.

I’m sure you are now fully well aware, but living in New York is not cheap.

And nothing makes it more apparent then when I participate in my two favorite weekend activities: shopping and meeting friends for drinks. (If I could import Field House penny pitchers or Bengals’ $2.50 long islands here, I would.)

And because I can’t say no to a new dress and drinks typically range anywhere from $7-$15 a glass,  I decided that I would need to curb these guilty pleasures in order for my bank account to survive the summer…until I ventured over to the South Street Seaport.

1) KaRa:

KaRa is an amazing affordable women’s clothing store (Sorry Cody, Zach and Yen) at 188 Front Street. It is located on the same side of the street as the Abercrombie and Fitch and Superdry.

After spending about two hours in the two-story KaRa, I noticed their accessories range anywhere from around $7 to $30 and clothes $10 to $70. They even have a killer sales rack with even lower prices. KaRa sells all styles of clothing as well – from classic to trendy, bohemian to evening wear. However, they do not sell shoes. I just may have died and gone to Century 21 shoe heaven if they did.

2) Pacific Grill: http://www.pacificgrillnyc.com/.

Pacific Grill is right on the water located at 89 South Street.

While I cannot review  Pacific Grill’s food, I can testify that they have amazing “Happy Hour” drink specials. I have actually never seen or experienced Pacific Grill not running these specials.

On any given day, Pacific Grill has $4 domestic beers, $5 frozen Pina Coladas, Miami Vices (my personal favorite), Lime Margaritas, Stawberry Daquiris and $6 wines and cocktails.

If you can’t get ahold of me on a Saturday afternoon, you’ll know where to find me…

-Jenner Smith

Leave a Reply

