The Balance

This huge, beautiful city is simply amazing. There’s just about an endless amount of areas to explore and adventures to get lost within. In our cases, there’s a good-sized group of new friends looking to be fulfilled with the very same once on a lifetime experience.

While this summer promises to be like none other, there are still very essential people and places outside of the Big Apple.

My most telling experience within this larger experience of “the New York summer” has been finding the balance between the importance here and the importance elsewhere.

Luckily, I’ve had the best of both worlds. I’ve seen the sun set behind the Statue of Liberty and Hudson River, sharing the pictures with my family later that night. I’ve indulged in authentic Chinese food in the heart of Chinatown, but also got to hear and tell stories of the weekend with my girlfriend over Skype. I’ve taken a gorgeous afternoon walk in Central Park while texting my grandma (…which I’m still amazed she does so well).

My two weeks among the bright lights and big buildings have been amazing and just about perfect – but they haven’t come without trying to find the balance. This summer will hopefully be filled with memories that I’ll cherish forever, but I also want to make sure that I’m able to cherish those who are near and dear throughout it.

– Zach Garcia

Leave a Reply

