The High Line – Adventure Point

On Saturday I walked the High Line. A co-worker mentioned that it was one of the most underappreciated “must-dos” in the city, so I thought that I would check it out.

I took the C train up to 23rd Street and then walked through Chelsea to get to the top of the park.

It was gorgeous. The High Line is a one mile park that runs along the coast of the island. The “park” is elevated off of the ground on what used to be the New York Central Railroad. The park has all kinds of cool lay down benches for sunbathing or reading a book. The space itself was beautiful, but the views of both the city and the water were spectacular. (Great spot for unique and less touristy pictures.) Although the size and shape of the park makes it sound like a perfect spot for a short run — don’t be fooled. The pace of the High Line is incredibly slow, and although it wasn’t very crowded when I went, it was difficult to even walk at a steady pace because so many people were stopping to take pictures.

I would highly suggest taking an afternoon and exploring the area that the High Line runs through as well. I ended my walk through the park at Ganesvoort Street  and then I walked through portions of both Chelsea and the Meat Packing District. The shopping was a bit pricy, but the selection was great and it was cool to see how different the areas were.

Check it out and let me know what you think! If you’re interested in going, I’d be more than willing to go again!

-Katrina

Leave a Reply

