If my life had a theme song…

…it would be called “Clutching Caffeine.”

It would start out slow and groggy.You’d start to hear the screech of the subway and the beeping of my intern pass. About 30 seconds in, the faint sound of acoffee maker would begin to play in the background. The music gets louder, there’s gulping, and suddenly it’s an all-out dubstep throwdown…ending in an abrupt crash.

Ok, enough of my music analogy. In the city that never sleeps, I actually do… but not much. I work three days a week for 8 hours, which doesn’t sound like much and it really isn’t, but I’m tired after each day. After I walk home from work, it’s about 7:00PM and all I really want to do is nap, but I can’t do that! It’s too late! So, instead, I hang out with the people in the dorms, eat dinner, and finish up the last season of Desperate Housewives before bed. RIP Mike. By the time I actually get to sleep, it’s usually around 1-1:30 AM.

That’s why I’m dedicating this blog to the Flavia coffee maker at VH1. Flav, I call her Flav, is the best friend a girl can have. With just a touch of a button, she’s there with a piping hot cup of hazelnut coffee, a cappuccino, or a Milky Way hot chocolate. Who needs an intern when you’ve got Flav (if only she could transcribe interviews!)

Image

I have at least one coffee a day, and although it may be bad for my health, it’s great for my sanity. Thank you, VH1, for introducing me to Flav. She keeps me going when I’m feeling down.

Ashley Carr

Leave a Reply

