Openhouse Gallery Welcomed Me with Open Arms.

That’s right. Not only am I interning at VH1, but I had my first day as an Openhouse Gallery intern on Friday. Though I’ve been to the space a few times, I felt like I was entering a new world. ‘Twas a world where I wasn’t a visitor, but a part of the team. Ok, that’s not really that true. I had no idea what I was doing. Greg wasn’t there when I got there so I had to hope for the best and ask someone walking around (I later learned his name was Sean/Shawn) where I should go. 

I was directed up to the office space and found one other girl waiting there. As it turned out, she was an intern too. Within the next ten minutes, two other interns strolled in. The first thing I liked about Openhouse: arrival times are not super-strict.

I had originally planned on starting on Monday, but since there was too much clutter, there wasn’t room for me yet. Wah wah. However, I did get a chance to start on some stories. Oh, right, I forgot to tell you I’ll be reporting/writing for Openhouse. So, I continued researching and writing pop up storie for the remainder of the day.

Other than that, I drank tons of (free-as-it-should-be) water from the cooler, joked with the other interns, deposited some checks, and took many peeks at the Asian art people were setting up for this weekend.

I already feel like a part of the team, and we are all getting lunch on Monday.

 

Ashley Carr

Leave a Reply

