It’s Okay To Be By Yourself

Today I went on an adventure by myself.

If you haven’t done it yet, I would highly suggest it. Although I love hanging out and sharing New York with friends from Mizzou, there is something to be said about experiencing things on your own. All on your own.

Even if you don’t think it’s your thing — I think you should try it.

I started at South Street Seaport and walked along the water until I hit Battery Park. Along the way I saw all kinds of boat traffic, piers, the heliport, the Statue of Liberty, the Staten Island Ferry and the Govenours Island Ferry and a wedding being set up in Battery Park.

I walked through Battery Park and turned around. I had a $6 beer in the Battery Park beer garden, overlooking the Statue of Liberty and the gorgeous water and then headed back the way I came.

I stopped right across from Pine Street on this interesting raised park area. There’s a dog park under FDR drive right here, and beyond that there are benches in the sun that face the water.

I desperately wanted to lay down after walking around for so long, but the benches were all one-seaters. So I started exploring. I climbed up behind a huge planter (see the green sections on the map right near the water) and found  a ledge, about as wide as a twin bed, that ran along the back of the planters.

So crawled along the ledge until I was completely hidden by the plants and laid my towel down. Perfect for discrete sunbathing (and boat watching).

Look how close to the water you can get! It was incredibly nice and every so often I’d get misted by the waves — I still can’t decide if that was lovely and refreshing or super gross.

So if you’re craving some alone time, try out this spot. It’s only a few minutes away from the apartment, but I promise you will feel like you are worlds away.

-Katrina

Leave a Reply

