Adventure Point: Your Friendly Neighborhood Spiderman

If I could be on the MTV show “Made”, I would be made into two things: A Broadway star and a superhero. That being said, I knew that I had to see the Broadway play Spiderman: Turn Off the Dark. I was lucky to have my boyfriend–a former superhero obsessed little boy–in town to join me.

This play was absolutely insane and totally unlike any other musical I have seen before. Immediately when we reached our seats, an usher approached us and told us that Spiderman would literally land less than 2 feet away from where we were sitting. And, he did exactly that! He landed on the platform and saluted directly into the area where I was sitting. Throughout the entire play, Spiderman and his arch nemesis, the Green Goblin, would zoom around the theater on extended wire cables. It was SO cool and probably pretty dangerous.

Hands down, my favorite part of the experience was the music. All of the music was written and composed by Bono of U2, which you could definitely tell similarities between the music in the play and the style of U2’s music. It truly amazes me how talented Broadway actors and actresses are. The leads’ voices in this play were incredible.

Overall, my first summertime Broadway experience was great! If you can, I highly recommend catching this action packed play.

Leave a Reply

