For the record, I was not disappointed.

My first trip to New York in 2009 was filled with a fake New York accent and the tagline, “I’m from BROOKLYN!!!”
Clearly, I am not from Brooklyn. My 5-feet-7-inch frame and baby-face combo exposes that I am from middle America. However, I spent a day in Brooklyn that allowed me to see why Brooklynites are proud to call that borough their home.

It started with a walk over the Brooklyn Bridge with two friends. The sun was shining. The skyscrapers were gleaming. The water was glistening in the sun. For the record, I was not disappointed.

After a brief photo shoot on the rocks of a waterfront park in Brooklyn, my friends and I worked up an appetite. Where do Brooklynites go when hunger strikes? A pizza joint, of course.

Ignorant, we decided on world-famous pizza place, Grimaldi’s. The entire city also seemed to be craving Grimaldi’s as well. The crew and I waited in line for 20 minutes, but extreme hunger forced us out of line and into Front Street Pizza, Home of the $3 slice. For the record, I was not disappointed.

We trekked it back home and planned our return to the Borough of Brooklyn to attend what was described as “indie music night.” Translation: “indie music night” means “chubby white kids rapping.” For the record, I was not disappointed.

My day-o-Brooklyn showed me a new side to the city. Brooklyn offers a different culture. It is still a part of New York City, but it was almost a new city. The glitz and glam of Manhattan doesn’t rub off on Brooklyn.

It’s a place with more strollers, more families and just more of a community feel.  For the record, I was not disappointed.

Leave a Reply

