Oh, Barbra.

Don’t tell me not to live,
Just sit and putter,
Lifes candy and the suns
A ball of butter.
Don’t bring around a cloud
To rain on my parade!
 
Barbra Streisand’s Don’t Rain On My Parade was on repeat in my head the entire weekend. Why? 1. I went to two parades this weekend and 2. It’s the only song I know that has the word parade in it. Luckily the sky listened to my incessant silent demanding for it not to rain on what Barbra intended to be a metaphorical parade (but of course I meant it literally!) and it was a beautiful weekend for both events.
 
On Saturday, Annie, Jaime, and I went to the Mermaid Parade on Coney Island and the following day, us three and Katie Brennan went to the NYC Pride Parade.
 
I think it’s time for the PARADE THROWDOWN!
 
ROUND 1: Location
Winner: Coney Island
Reason: With a beach, an amusement park, and Nathan’s Orignal Hot Dog stand, Coney Island beats Midtown.
 
ROUND 2: Atmosphere
Winner: Pride Parade
Reason: Everyone was so excited and proud to be who they are. (Almost) everyone was so supportive and at times it even brought the hint of a tear to my eye.
 
ROUND 3: Fun
Winner: Pride Parade
Reason: Though Annie and Katie left a little early to watch the soccer game, Jaime and I stuck around and not only got lots of free stuff (which is obviously my favorite thing), but also a fun experience walkng through the tents at PrideFest.
 
ROUND 4: People Scantily-Clad
Winner: It’s a tie!
Reason: I saw MORE than my fair share of skin at both the mermaid parade and pride parade. See below.
Image
Shirtless Mermaid
 
Image
Shirtless Men
 
Winner? It was a tough call, but I think I’ll have to go with…
 
Drumroll, please.
 
PRIDE! It was an honor to be a part of such a great event in the city. No one brought around a cloud to rain on my parade.
 
Leave a Reply

