The Perks of Being A Wallflower

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a novel about high school, romance, drugs and molestation.I’m sorry to disappoint you, but this story has nothing to with any of those things. Instead, it has to do with the actual perks I enjoyed being a wallflower for a day.

Working at VH1, opportunities arise for interns to attend shoots, perfomances, or interviews with different celebrities. This past week, VH1 News interviewed both Jordin Sparks, the winner of the 2007 season of American Idol, and an up-and-coming band The Lumineers (Yes, they share a name with a veneer company.)

When I heard the choices, I originally wanted to go to the Jordin Sparks interview. Apparently some other interns had the same idea and jumped on that bandwagon before I had a chance to follow the pack. The interview was too cramped to fit one more. So, I made my way to the Lumineers interview, and I’m glad I did.

Upon arrival to the set, I realized that the shooter for this particular interview was Jason, the shooter for my department. For all you non-broadcast/convergence/journalism students, I don’t mean that he shoots guns, but rather cameras. 🙂 Luckily, for me and Carly, another news intern, Jason is very friendly. So, we decided to do a mock interview. I ran the camera and interviewed. Finally I was in my comfort zone and got to show off my skills…even if I was asking questions about a made-up band called Sushi Man (or something other ridiculous name).

The Lumineers showed up around 1PM, and as the band walked in, I realized where the name came from. The lead singer’s teeth were flawless. White, straight, and perfectly-sized, they distracted me throughout the entire interview. His perfect hair and beard didn’t hurt. Ok, enough about that.

After the interview, I took my place as a wallflower in a different room. The band performed and I nodded my head in the corner, happy I’d found a new band to add to my playlist and eager to go to more shoots.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EJN-rzytlYI

This is the link to the band’s first single. Check them out!

Later Gators,

Ashley Carr

Leave a Reply

