Groupon Now!

This week I got the best haircut of my life.

I have been wanting to get my haircut since I got here (over a month ago). Now I need to return home for the week for a family function, and I decided that I had put it off for too long.

I tried to make an appointment with the Aveda Institute, but they were all booked up.

I spent Monday and Tuesday asking around. The general consensus was that haircuts are cheaper in Brooklyn and none of my coworkers (20s-30s) even dream of spending the money to get their hair done in Manhattan.

And then one of my coworkers mentioned that she does get her hair cut in Manhattan, she just never goes to the same place. She uses Groupon Now. It’s a section of Groupon that features expiring deals. You have to use the deal that day and sometimes within a certain range of hours.

So I hopped online and found a great deal in SoHo. I crossed checked reviews with Yelp (never trust Groupon’s reviews) and decided to go for it. A few hours later I showed up for my 7:45 p.m. appointment in the heart of SoHo.

The place was fancy. SO FANCY. I changed out of my work clothes and into a robe and the stylist took me back to wash my hair. I got a head massage, free drink and a blow out all for under $35.

It was amazing.

Moral of the story — check out Groupon Now. I know it can feel risky to try new places, but as long as you check on the reviews I really don’t think you can go wrong.

Leave a Reply

