Home Sweet Carolina

I asked off from work for Monday and Tuesday before Independence Day, and headed home to North Carolina. I spent a great few days with my family there; we took a mini-vacation to Southport, N.C., which is three hours away from home.  There’s nothing like a Southern beach in the summer. The heat wave that was making the rest of the South and Midwest swelter didn’t quite reach the ocean, so we got sunny skies and beautiful  weather.  Perfection.  After spending about a month in the city, it was refreshing to be out in the open space.

Being back home really made me think about differences between urban and suburban life.  Granted, there are positives for both, and I think I would be comfortable both places. I’ve never really been one of those people who is very prickly about living in a city, or who yearns for the countryside, forever.  I think both have their strengths, and I feel like I’ve been lucky to be able to experience both.

Leave a Reply

