An (un)conventional Fourth

Last year, I was abroad for the 4th of July, so I wasn’t able to witness the typical fireworks display.  This year, I went home for the first part of the week to North Carolina.

Of course, I was due back at work come Thursday, so I flew back into LaGuardia late Wednesday afternoon, which also happened to be Independence Day.  While my family watched the fireworks at home, comfortably seated and free from crowds, I came back to the city, dumped my bag in the apartment, and hurried to where the fireworks could be seen.  I wasn’t about to miss them two years in a row. Fortunately for me, friends had been camped out since early, and had a great view (albeit with limited seating).

It was a unique experience, to be sure. Watching fireworks between the buildings (as opposed to an unobstructed night sky) was different, but it was something to be appreciated at well.

Leave a Reply

