Guggenheim & Lunch

It occurred to me that I’ve been living in New York for almost a month now. This past weekend, I resolved to get out and play tourist a little more.  Since art class in high school, I’ve always loved crazy art. Buildings, paintings, whatever it may be. I’m a sucker for modern art. I don’t pretend to be some sort of expert, I just like the look of unconventional artwork. That’s why it surprised me that I had yet to pay a visit to the Frank Lloyd Wright’s Guggenheim Museum.

I met up with a friend for brunch first, and then we planned to move on to the museum. My friend had heard about a great place in the Upper East Side called Paola’s Restaurant.  It took us a bit to find it, but the search was totally worth it. We were seated outside, which was OK because it was early and not yet too hot.  Actually, it had been a while since I’d eaten at sidewalk seating, so it was a nice change of pace.  Once I got a look at the menu, I wished we’d come for dinner. The place was traditional, really delicious Italian fare.  It was on the pricey side on a student budget, but it was worth it.

Next, on to the Guggenheim! I’d visited this museum last about five years ago, but it was wonderful to be back.  The building itself is worth a visit, let alone the artwork inside.  I spent most of the time in their fantastic Kandinsky exhibit, but there were some great Picasso pieces as well.  We ended up staying until closing time around 6 p.m. It was a great way to spend a Sunday.

Leave a Reply

