Cupcake War Champs

For those of you who think they have had the best cupcake in the city, I think you’re wrong. Unless, of course, you’ve had one at Molly’s Cupcakes.

Last week at my internship, we had a little Fourth of July celebration. Celery, carrots, guacamole and other healthy snacks were sprawled across the wooden table in the conference room. Obviously, I went for the cupcakes and the pizza. No shame. As I casually walked back to my desk, I popped the mini chocolate cupcake into my mouth. Then, I died. How could something so tiny be so delicious?  It was so moist, not too sweet, and had the perfect amount of frosting. I walked right back there and took a peek at the box, after I got another cupcake, of course. Molly’s Cupcakes, it read. I was determined to find this gem and stuff my face once again with their concoctions.

The discovery couldn’t have come at a better time. My boyfriend Ben was in town and we were on the hunt for the best food in the city (more on that later). I decided to invite him to 1. track down the place, and 2. see if my then-empty stomach had caused me to over-exaggerate this bakery’s treats.

As if turns out, it didn’t. Upon arrival, we found out Molly’s had been the season finale of Cupcake Wars. Along with the sign proving their win, this little gem hung outside the place:Image

Even more reason to love it.

We decided to go with their challenge-winning cupcakes. The first was a peach cobbler cupcake complete with peach filling and homemade whipped cream. The second was a lemon cake with kiwi filling and a marshmallow topping. With one bite, I died and went to heaven. My mouth is watering.

Image

We liked it so much that we went back the next day. Again, no shame.

Image

(I obviously like this camera angle)

This is a chocolate cupcake with  Kahlua buttercream filling. The second is a blueberry cupcake with cheesecake filling.

I’m not even that much of a sweets person, but these cupcakes may have been the best food I’ve eaten since I’ve been here, and that’s saying a lot.

Ashley Carr

Leave a Reply

