In Memory… for the Future

I finally took part in the activity that topped my list coming to New York City this summer. This past holiday weekend, I had a meaningful venture to the National September 11 Memorial, just a few blocks away from our digs on William Street.

The Memorial, with the myriad of mixed motions it holds, is a place absolutely unlike any other throughout the city. I’ll let you figure out for yourself what that means to you.

Fountains now make up the foundations of the World Trade Center’s North and South Towers at the National September 11 Memorial.

What it once meant and still means to me is an area of an almost heavy quietness, where once so much movement took place on a daily basis. The silence, in the middle of this constantly loud city, was something that stuck with me following my first visit to the (then very different) Ground Zero spot in 2005.

That sensation, at least for me, was still indelibly there during my visit the other day. But there’s also something else – promise in a once again bustling future. The Memorial is only partially complete this summer, but fully worth spending some valuable reflection time on.

Tickets are free but you’ll need to reserve your spot ahead of time – you can do so by clicking here. It is a bit of a heavy day, but I’d definitely recommend going while we live a mere few blocks away.

– Zach Garcia

Leave a Reply

