Perks

If you can imagine, there are perks that come along with interning at a top, national cable news channel. Those perks (for me) include free movie screenings, a free Mets baseball game, free food and the chance to meet anchors and other famous people.

Obviously, the free things that have come along with this internship have been great. However, one of my favorite parts of my internship are the people I get to meet.

Fox holds an intern seminar almost every week where someone working for Fox comes to talk to the interns. Last week, one of the anchors on the show “The Five” spoke to us and this week the anchors from “America’s Newsroom” were our speakers.

Besides meeting people at the weekly seminars, I get to meet the guests that are on the show I work on. So far, I have met Jake Johnson, Nick on the show “New Girl” with Zooey Deschanel, and Steve Forbes, editor-in-chief of Forbes magazine and chief executive officer of Forbes Inc. Tonight, I will meet Shawn Johnson, one of the female gymnasts from the 2008 Olympics. And of course I have met Greta Van Susteren, the anchor of the show I work on. (I’m sure you all saw my creepy stalker picture of her.)

I have had many great opportunities at Fox so far, and I’m so thankful for all that I have been able to do. Hopefully the intern seminars will continue and the guests keep coming!

Leave a Reply

