Nerd Alert: Museum of the Moving Image

Image

So this is a picture of the Muybridge Horse. It is one of the first examples of capturing motion.

It was used to solve a bet about whether or not a horse lifted all of its legs off of the ground at once (they do). 

Anyways, I studied this muybridge horse thing in a film class at Mizzou this year, and seeing it in the museum made me feel like I was somewhere important. Not the museum, but New York. It made me feel like I was in the middle of the action. Things that I can only study about in a classroom at Mizzou are existing all around me here. 

I might be exaggerating, but at that moment, I felt like I belonged in New York. If I want to follow my “dreams” of working in television or film, I should put myself in a good position to do so. I’m not saying I’m ready to sign a lease, but I am really starting to consider the possibilities of making this filthy, crowded city my future home.

Leave a Reply

