Realization

In the past week, the following things have occurred to me.
1. My boss at TODAY talked to me about my final assignment at work, and is arranging a meeting with me to speak with her 1-on-1 before we leave to discuss my future.

2. My second monthly Subway pass expired.

3. My second monthly gym membership will expire in 3 days.

4. My boss in Columbia has sent me my schedule for when I return to the Show-Me State.

5. I am almost down to single digit days before I depart from the Big Apple.

The realization has hit me. My New York adventure is coming to a close. And I have conflicting thoughts about the whole thing.

Of course, I miss some of the comforts of home. Driving an air conditioned car beats sweating on the subway. A home-cooked meal trumps two chicken gyros. Paying rent for half the price in New York is quite a perk, too.

However, New York is a city where you can expect the unexpected. For the first time in three years, I’ve lived a life that doesn’t seem to be as structured. In a major city, it’s easy to stumble upon new places and meet new people and learn about new activities. It’s refreshing. It’s eye-opening. It’s different. And I don’t know if I will ever return to live here again.

So now, with 11 days and counting, I am already imagining how I will feel when I depart from the city.

…Here’s to tears on my flight back home! Sorry to Delta Flight 6177 in advance.

Leave a Reply

