Adventure point: Coney Island!

Before coming to New York, I’d only seen Coney Island in television shows and movies. Even then, I thought it was so adorable and kitsch. I was really excited when a few of us decided to go for the Mermaid parade. On the way there, I overheard someone saying how rundown it was, my hopes fell just a few degrees. No worries though. When we got there, my hopes were flying. It was everything I wanted in a destination. There’s an amusement park, a beach, a circus show, and let’s not forget about the hot dogs. 

Though the Mermaid Parade was a bit hectic for my taste, I enjoyed walking along the beach and the boardwalk and of course, people watching. I liked it so much that I went back for the Fourth of July. Another crowded time, my boyfriend and I decided to skip watching the infamous hot dog eating contest and relax on the beach instead.

I like almost everything about Coney Island, but there are two things that I would change:

1. IT’S SO FAR.

2. Who invented their shower system? They have showers on the beach to wash sand off your feet, but there is no way to get to the boardwalk without treking through sand once more. It’s very poorly designed…but now I’m just complaining.

Image

Leave a Reply

