Things I’ve Learned

I have L-O-V-E-D my beauty internship at Seventeen. When I was searching for an internship, I was searching specifically for a beauty internship even though I really didn’t know what to expect from this type of internship.

I have been at Seventeen for about nine weeks and every single week, I have walked away with some piece of knowledge or information that will help me in the future.

Future MIZ-NYCer’s, write this down! The top three things I would share with future interns are I as follows:

  1. Always have a can-do-it attitude: No question about, this is the most important aspect of having a beneficial internship. You have to want to want to do what you’re doing and even if it’s not exactly what you want to do, always have an attitude that is reflective of being a postive and hard working person. Your supervisors will appreciate your positivity and you will be rewarded in having more freedom with your tasks or simply having a positive referral in the future.
  2. Don’t be timid: While interning is definitely a nerve-wracking experience, be outgoing and friendly! This is a great way to make connection with people other than those you are closely working with.
  3. Have fun!: Interning is work, but always remember to have fun! This is a once in a lifetime experience and you should make it the best experience possible. Don’t think of your internship as just your 9-to-5 job, but rather as an opportunity to make connections and below the surface relationships with individuals you could potentially work with one day. Like Jaime said, if you can show your co-workers you aren’t a  impersonal person, you will stand out in their mind as someone who they would like to be co-workers with.

To all you future NYC interns, make the most of your interning experience! I’m pretty sure that I can speak for all of us here when I say that this summer has been pretty amazing.

Leave a Reply

