P.S. 1

As a part of my multimedia project, I’ve been trying to make the most of my time in New York by visiting museums, especially modern art museums. I’ve done MoMA and the Guggenheim, so I decided it was time to venture over to Queens and visit MoMA’s more aggressive affiliate, P.S. 1. I like modern art, but there’s something at P.S. 1 that’s almost challenging and unique.  The museum was started in 1971 by Alanna Heiss, and it’s become an institution for contemporary art since then. The affiliation with MoMA started in 2000. With my old MoMA ticket, I could get into P.S. 1 for free, which was fantastic.

It’s hard to describe what it’s like seeing some of these works of art. Inspired? Maybe. Confused? Definitely. If you want to be stuck scratching your head for a while, and feeling that your goals in life may be entirely too materialistic, this may be the place for you.  It was worth a visit, though. I’m not sure if I’m “deep” enough to appreciate the experience, however. I kid. But seriously, it’s worth a visit to appreciate some of the VERY contemporary works of art, because it has more of an impact on our lives today than even some of the work at MoMA. This is the truly modern art.

Leave a Reply

