Think Before You Tweet

Okay everyone knows that social media has a pretty powerful influence on our lives. It’s hard to go a day without getting on Facebook and you can connect to anyone, including celebrities. Well, that’s great, but sometimes, social media can be a much bigger problem. People sometimes don’t realize the consequences of their actions when they post a status or tweet inappropriate things, and it just seems to be happening a little more frequently lately.

For example, Greek athlete Voula Papachristou was immediately expelled from the Olympics after this tweet: “With so many Africans in Greece…A least the West Nile mosquitos will eat home made food!!!” Um…what?! That’s not okay. She should’ve known that by being an Olympic athlete, she is very open to the public eye. I don’t feel sorry for her at all.

And the problems just keep happening with Twitter. Playboy Model Tricia Evans tweeted this about the Aurora shooting: “I heard the new Batman movie is really “to die for”! Too soon?” Um, duh, that’s too soon! That just happened! Once again, it was pretty stupid for her to say that when she’s in the public sphere, but then again, she’s a playboy bunny, so maybe I should lower my expectations of her intelligence (if they can go any lower).

This one wasn’t a social media problem, but still a thoughtless celebrity making jokes just for attention. Dane Cook used the Aurora shooting to his advantage when he said the following: “So I heard that the guy came into the theater about 25 minutes into the movie. And I don’t know if you’ve seen the movie, but the movie is pretty much a piece of crap… Yeah, spoiler alert. And I know that if none of that would have happened, I’m pretty sure that somebody in that theater, about 25 minutes in, realizing it was a piece of crap, probably was like, ‘Ugh f—king shoot me.'” Why do people think this is funny?! Especially when it has been only a week since it happened. Call me sensitive or whatever since I live there, but I would still be angry about this even if I didn’t live there.

I’m not in the public sphere, but I know it’s common sense not to say things like that when so many lives were affected. And as for the Greek athlete, the Olympics is about all the countries competing and celebrating together, so why woud you think that making even a semblance of a racist comment is okay? Come on people, get your acts together.

Leave a Reply

