Can you believe…

…that it’s almost time for us all to go back home to the Midwest and lead our usual life as students?! I certainly cannot. While summertime always seems to fly by a little too fast, this summer takes that to an entirely new level. It feels like yesterday I was walking in my New School dorm and getting settled before my first day of work. We have been here for roughly ten weeks now working and leading (for the most part) adult lives.

This summer was unlike any other summer in the sense that it gave me my first true taste of what adult life on my own would really be like. While I have interned and had jobs in the past, I was always comforted by the fact that my family, friends and home were always close by. For the most part, I really learned what it was like to be a responsible, working adult.

Whether it be waking up at 7:40 a.m. every day or learning how to be a little frugal with my funds, this summer was a great learning experience to what it will be like come May 2013 when I’m thrown into the real world. Graduating in May seemed so ominous, looming and actually frightening when I came to New York in May, but now as I get ready to depart at the end of this summer, I am certainly not looking forward to ending my time at Mizzou, but I almost welcome it in a sense knowing that I will be able to come back to the city that taught and inspired me so much.

I’m so glad that I was able to have the amazing opportunity of spending my summer in one of the most incredible cities in the world. It’s great to know that I have made some great connections with the people I have worked with and also had some really fun times along the way. Shout-out to my MIZ-NYCers!

Leave a Reply

