If there’s one thing New York has taught me…

…it’s to make connections. 

On every media visit, every interview, and in the majority of conversations I’ve had with professionals, I’ve been advised to meet as many people as I can. I’ve taken this advice to heart. 

In a city as big as New York, it’s all about the people you know. I’ve realized the one person you met at the coffee shop while rushing to you’re internship could be my next boss. A smile and a “have a nice day” never hurt anyone. I didn’t have this mindset the whole time I’ve been here though.

If you smile at someone on the street, they think you’re hitting on them. If you smile at someone in a store, they think you work there (right, Cody?). At least, that’s what I thought the first few weeks I was here. I’d developed this tougher-than-nails, I-hate-tourists attitude that I’ve learned, no doubt, from the grocery store clerks that don’t say a word to you when checking out.

After I received the golden advice, the advice I probably knew all along, I decided to revert back to my Midwestern ways. Plus, I hated not saying sorry when I stepped on someone’s foot and not greeting the doorman. Whether my rediscovered people skills will get me a job, entry to an exclusive club, or a free coffee, I don’t know and it really doesn’t matter. I want to be myself and not this hardened caricature of me.

Whoa, that was deep.

 

Ashley Carr

One response to “If there’s one thing New York has taught me…

  1. martysteffens

    I help tourists, give directions…. just can’t be mean!

Leave a Reply

