Sick in the City

I’m sick, and I’m not happy about it.

I woke my last Saturday in the city to find that I had a soar throat and a runny nose. This was not part of the plan. 

When I get sick at home, I lay in bed all day with tissues and medicines within arms reach. Here, I have none of that. So when I woke up, I didn’t know what to do. 

Thankfully my mother had the wherewithal to have me pack DayQuil. I took some and then headed to Real Deal to buy tissues, cough drops, and Milano cookies (I deserve them, I’m sick). 

I had high hopes for my Saturday, but quickly my body decided that laying in bed all day was what it was going to do. I ate a banana in hopes that maybe a banana-a-day also kept the doctor away, but it didn’t help. 

Now it is Sunday and I feel about the same. I’m not sure what a fever feels like, but I might have one. Either way, I’m going to work tomorrow for my last week at Cake Boss. At least this cold is distracting me from my how sad I am to say goodbye to New York.

Leave a Reply

